Final Drive Stud Shearing

Are ya having a problem with your rig? We'll try to help. Share your tech tips and experiences here. Dr. Billy Glaser, author of the "Unofficial 750 Ural Service Manual" site myural.com, is moderating this section.
Forum rules
Here is the place for you to ask questions about or share your experiences about servicing or repairing your Ural or Dnepr. Please post topics concering modifications or accesories in the "Modifications and Acessories" section. Please post oil related questions in the "Oil Threads" section.
mod_rocker
Comrade
Comrade

Final Drive Stud Shearing

Post by mod_rocker » Wed Dec 04, 2019 9:57 am

Good (not really) Morning All,
I have been riding my 2012 Yamal on a near-daily basis since January 2018. Nearly eight weeks ago I noticed the lowest (of four) mounting studs missing. I thought it had spun and dropped out BUT in fact, the stud has sheared off leaving only the threads in the FD case half. I had a local machine shop remove the broken piece and ordered a set of new stud, nylock nuts, and gasket. Everything was nice and clean for reassembly and I did not rush any part of the job.
Last night I saw that gear oil had leaked all over the rear tire and was dripping from the nut on the lowest stud. It came off in may hand - sheared again!
From my perspective, there does not seem to be much variation/adjustment in alignment with mounting the FD, which would be my first area of concern.
I am feeling less than stellar about the situation and am looking for some perspective.
Here are some additional pieces of information:
The circlip on the rear drive shaft splines is in the middle position (where it was when I removed the FD)
I replaced the donut at the same time since the circular holes were in fact oval and rubber tendrils were sloughing off
I have been running Red Line gear oil per the previous owner
I typically ride 12 - 15 miles a day commuting to work and running other errands.
The current mileage is nearly 22K km.
TIA,