Rear brake pedal freeplay

Woe unto you that bought the first model year of a major remake, perhaps this section can help address any 2014 and later model Ural "imperfections". Here's a special section for folks with the latest rigs to discuss 2014 and later model-related topics such fuel injection, 3-wheel disc brakes, hydraulic steering dampers, spin-on oil filters and other anomalies that don't belong on true Russsian motorcycle ;-P We've gone from using big hammers and greasy wrenches to needing computers and Ouija boards in order to fix our rigs.
Forum rules
Please keep this section specific to issues pertaining to 2014 and later models such as fuel injection, sidecar and rear disc brakes and so forth. Ask general or non-2014 and later specific questions in the main Hammerin' & Wrenchin' section.
jcbigears
Hero of the Soviet Union - 2019

Rear brake pedal freeplay

Post by jcbigears » Sat May 04, 2019 9:01 am

Hi all. Newbie here to Ural but not to motorcycle mechanics. I need some advice please. I’ve just bought a 2016 Ranger that sat around a lot. It’s only got 130km on the clock and looks it too.
However, I have what feels like far too much play in the rear brake pedal. It works, but I’m almost pointing my toes downwards to have any effect. I’ve read other posts about this problem and am wondering if i should flush out both brake lines and bleed them, then balance them (which sounds like a big effort) or just adjust the freeplay via the cable adjuster at the back of the pedal. The brake fluid for all I know hasn’t been changed ever, so I suspect I know what the right answer is going to be...
Thanks for your opinions anyway.
2016 Ranger, left hand sidecar, underside of the equator

S 854
Commissar
Commissar

Re: Rear brake pedal freeplay

Post by S 854 » Sat May 04, 2019 9:17 am

No experience with Ural rear discs...however... lots of experience with pre-owned vehicles...