Page 2 of 7

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 3:20 am
by outrider
Burt1713 wrote:
outrider wrote:
Burt1713 wrote:
outrider wrote:My teach worked when I picked up my 2017 without this mod.
Maybe Ural has fixed this issue. When did you get your bike?
Two weeks ago.
If you don't mind me asking what dealer did you get your bike from?
Metro Motorsports in Neenah Wisconsin. Jesse is the Ural mechanic there.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:06 am
by shieldsy67
So out of interest what is the motors rpm at 65MPH ? 5000 odd ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:23 pm
by Burt1713
shieldsy67 wrote:So out of interest what is the motors rpm at 65MPH ? 5000 odd ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Not sure at 65, but at 60 the rpm's are around 4300 if memory serves.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:04 pm
by shieldsy67
Burt1713 wrote:
shieldsy67 wrote:So out of interest what is the motors rpm at 65MPH ? 5000 odd ?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Not sure at 65, but at 60 the rpm's are around 4300 if memory serves.
Thanks Burt - given max torque is quoted as 4300 and max hp at 5500 this is probably a nice place to sit at 60 - 65 mph. I wonder why everyone is scared that the engine is going to self destruct if you sit on 60 mph plus ? Are we living in the past ? Or does this low compression motor not like sustained RPM right in the torque curve ? Sorry - not meaning to hijack the thread and change the subject. Just thinking out loud - appreciate the reply ! Cheers from Australia - Mark


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:27 pm
by Mr Wazzock
I've got a chart (from here) says 4,650 rpm @ 65 mph. With 4.62:1 final drive. It's only 650 rpm away from the redline. Biggest limitation is uphill grades and strong headwinds, which really knock the speed down. Also it will guzzle gas at higher rpm's / speeds (i.e. large throttle openings). Also it blows engine oil out the breather at 60+ (in top gear or whatever equiv. rpm in lower gears). Also it vibrates unpleasantly. (I put bar end weights on mine, so did a friend, others do things like fill the handlebars with lead shot.) Basically it's all too "frantic" and uncomfortable. 55 - 60 is just much nicer all round and should be easily achievable at about half throttle, so much better gas economy. And surprisingly I discovered it doesn't take any longer to get anywhere.

HTH

PS (edit) also of course it is basically a 1930's design. :D

-

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:06 am
by windmill
Finally got around to doing it on my M70, and programming the Redline warning so the spedo flashes red when it's exceeded.

I initially tried the method of wrapping the wire around a spark plug wire, but it was erratic. Rewired it to the gray and white wire on the left coil and it works great now.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:51 pm
by rivers
shieldsy67 wrote: Thanks Burt - given max torque is quoted as 4300 and max hp at 5500 this is probably a nice place to sit at 60 - 65 mph. I wonder why everyone is scared that the engine is going to self destruct if you sit on 60 mph plus ? Are we living in the past ? Or does this low compression motor not like sustained RPM right in the torque curve ? Sorry - not meaning to hijack the thread and change the subject. Just thinking out loud - appreciate the reply ! Cheers from Australia - Mark
Repeatedly running at a sustained 65mph I'd be more worried about grenading the FD. Seems most folks that blow-up FD's are in the habit of running 60+ mph.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:12 pm
by windmill
rivers wrote:
shieldsy67 wrote: Thanks Burt - given max torque is quoted as 4300 and max hp at 5500 this is probably a nice place to sit at 60 - 65 mph. I wonder why everyone is scared that the engine is going to self destruct if you sit on 60 mph plus ? Are we living in the past ? Or does this low compression motor not like sustained RPM right in the torque curve ? Sorry - not meaning to hijack the thread and change the subject. Just thinking out loud - appreciate the reply ! Cheers from Australia - Mark
Repeatedly running at a sustained 65mph I'd be more worried about grenading the FD. Seems most folks that blow-up FD's are in the habit of running 60+ mph.
That shouldn't be a concern for folks with mid 2017 and later rigs with the upgraded, matched FD gear sets.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:07 pm
by hotflash44
windmill,cant understand why some folks want to push the Ural wide open for sustained periods 60,65,even 70 really. my god, this is a wheel chair with a motor. even if IMZ improves the internals in the future, i think the racing high speed freeway flyer the Ural,( isn't.) Sorry couldn't help myself showing my age i guess. :sarcasm: :cheers:

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:17 pm
by windmill
hotflash44 wrote:windmill,cant understand why some folks want to push the Ural wide open for sustained periods 60,65,even 70 really. my god, this is a wheel chair with a motor. even if IMZ improves the internals in the future, i think the racing high speed freeway flyer the Ural,( isn't.) Sorry couldn't help myself showing my age i guess. :sarcasm: :cheers:
I've done countless miles at 60-65 mph, which is within safe operating RPMs.
Here in western Washington, once one is outside the Puget sound metro area, distances between destinations become substantial, and freeways are often the one and only option.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:00 am
by hotflash44
windmill ,that is good to know ,some folks here seem to feel sustained periods at highway speed isn't good for the Ural, maybe the older models. :cheers:

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:03 am
by windmill
hotflash44 wrote:windmill ,that is good to know ,some folks here seem to feel sustained periods at highway speed isn't good for the Ural, maybe the older models. :cheers:
I think the problems come when folks try to maintain those speeds in the face of adverse conditions such as hills, wind, or heavy loads.
Over revving past redline in a lower gear to keep speed up, and lugging the engine rather than downshifting are 2 things in particular that should be avoided.

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:44 am
by hotflash44
windmill,shifting properly has always been a illusive skill for many people, think that might have been the reason for the automatic transmission popularity in the auto industry. your right, shift points on the Ural especially are something people need to learn. esp in like you say hills,mountains, headwind etc. lugging is usually a insidious slow death and over revving the opposite. :cheers:

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:09 pm
by Burt1713
windmill wrote:Finally got around to doing it on my M70, and programming the Redline warning so the spedo flashes red when it's exceeded.

I initially tried the method of wrapping the wire around a spark plug wire, but it was erratic. Rewired it to the gray and white wire on the left coil and it works great now.
What part of the speedometer flashes red, the LCD backlights?

Re: How to make a 2017 tachometer functional.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:17 pm
by windmill
Burt1713 wrote:
windmill wrote:Finally got around to doing it on my M70, and programming the Redline warning so the spedo flashes red when it's exceeded.

I initially tried the method of wrapping the wire around a spark plug wire, but it was erratic. Rewired it to the gray and white wire on the left coil and it works great now.
What part of the speedometer flashes red, the LCD backlights?
Yes, that's correct.

I adjusted the LCD LEDs so it's kind of an OD green that somewhat matches the color of my rig, and its a good contrast to the red when it flashes. It's kind of a hoot being able to adjust the red, green, and blue back light LED's to "mix" them for a unique color.

For folks who don't know, this is how redline warning, and back light color is adjusted.

Shift Warning RPM Operation:
1. Press both MODE & RESET buttons to go into setting mode.
2. Press MODE button to until It displays the default "RPM r06500", the digit “0” flashes.
each press of the RESET button increments the flashing digit
When desired RPM is set, press and hold mode button for 2 seconds to exit programming mode.


Backlight Color Adjust:
1. Press MODE button to get to the VOLT screen when not moving; push and hold
RESET button for 2 seconds to go into backlight color setting mode.
2. It displays “LED RGB and RX-GX-BX”, the X after R, G and B indicate each color
of Red, Green or Blue color to be adjustable, each color has 10 levels 0, 1, 2,.9
for setting, “0” means the color is off, “9” means the color is turned on 100%.
3. Each press of the RESET button increments the flashing digit by 1, press MODE
button to confirm the flashing digit setting and jump to next digit to be set.
Press MODE button for 2 seconds to finish the setting and go to normal mode
Trip 1.