Vintage Dnepr in Seattle

Newbies, introduce yourself here. Are you thinking about getting one and have questions? Ask your basic questions here. Please post any tech questions in "The Order of The Greasy Wrench" section.
Forum rules
Here's the place for those who are newb or thinking about buying a Ural or Dnepr to introduce themselves ask those typical "newbie" questions. Try using the "Search" link at the top of the page to see if your question may have been asked before. Please post any tech questions in "The Order of the Greasy Wrench" section.
afcope

Vintage Dnepr in Seattle

Post by afcope » Sun Dec 29, 2019 2:38 am

Hey there everybody,

I am relatively new to the Seattle areas and getting restarted on my 1967 Dnepr K750 project
2013-01-20_12-13-24_691.jpg
Small problem...you all may not know this, but these old Soviet bikes can sometimes run into mechanical trouble. I need engine work done, so I am looking for a good machine shop.

Has anyone had any machine work done on old, airhead side-valve motors? A lot of folks don't like to work on them because they don't know anything about them so if anybody can make a recommendation I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Scott
Order of Suvarov
Order of Suvarov

Re: Vintage Dnepr in Seattle

Post by Scott » Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:12 am

Do it yourself.
Don't be scared!

What's wrong with it???
Scott Pell
gspell68@gmail.com
http://sites.google.com/site/foilheadz/
1951 KMZ K-750 (The Bull, БУЛ)
1962 KMZ K-750 (The Beast, БИСТ)
1959 IMZ M-72M Solo Rust Buc-Kit Bike

Cheap - Reliable - Fast
Pick any 2 and the other one won't apply!

afcope

Post by afcope » Sun Dec 29, 2019 2:01 pm

I need the cylinders machined to bore-match to my new pistons. I don't think I can do that myself!

rivers
Hero of the Soviet Union - 2020

Post by rivers » Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:07 pm