Disc Brake Gives Out

Are ya having a problem with your rig? We'll try to help. Share your tech tips and experiences here. Dr. Billy Glaser, author of the "Unofficial 750 Ural Service Manual" site myural.com, is moderating this section.
Forum rules
Here is the place for you to ask questions about or share your experiences about servicing or repairing your Ural or Dnepr. Please post topics concering modifications or accesories in the "Modifications and Acessories" section. Please post oil related questions in the "Oil Threads" section.
doug
Comrade General
Comrade General

Disc Brake Gives Out

Postby doug » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm

I am a 30+ year rider with over 100k two wheel statute miles under my belt, and 29k+ km on three wheels :D. I am a graduate of both the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Courses and the Ohio Dept. of Public Safety motorcycle course (a MSF course clone), and I have had only two, relatively low speed, unplanned dismounts in my career; neither involving an impact with another vehicle or stationary roadside object. I attribute my good fortune in no small part to the fact that early on I was trained to use both front and rear brakes to their best advantage. If you have formal training (which I HIGHLY recommend), you know how the stopping power is proportioned, front versus rear brakes, and the proper braking technique to use during high and low speed manuevering. No boasting intended, I am just saying I know how to use the brakes.