Cob, builds his version of the "windmill" air box

The "Pimp my Ride" section for Soviet bloc bikes. Everybody seems to have their own custom add-ons, modifications & accessories. Share your tips and post pictures of them here.
Forum rules
This is the place for topics concerining modifying and accessorizing your Ural or Denpr.

Cob, builds his version of the "windmill" air box

Postby mr. cob » Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:17 pm

Howdy All,

I have been following the exploits of Barry "windmill" and Richard "Leftka" as they have built and modified, constantly refined their air boxes. The air box I have been running for the last four years has worked extremely well but what these two miscreants have come up with in my opinion may very well work better and I think the best praise a person can give is to incorporate the work of others into ones own contraptions. THANK YOU Barry for pioneering this radical concept on the Ural. :clap: :clap: :clap:

I'll be using the air filter and the rubber end caps from my old air box as I build this new one. Using my old filter and end caps will make the fabrication of this new air box much SIMPLER then what the other folks have done as I won't need to build couplers from many different parts.

I am now waiting the for the "Enginaire Pre-Cleaner" to arrive, in the mean time I went down to the local hardware store and purchased the THREE pieces of PVC that will be used to build my version of this style of air box. All I am using is One 4" white PVC Tee, One piece of 2" OD PVC pipe, and One 4" PVC end cap. I may when the air box itself is finished bond to it a couple of PVC couplers that will have steel nuts bonded into them which will be used to mount the air box to the frame of my bike in the same location as my old air box was mounted. If I go this route I'll include how it is done in this build report. So lets get started.